The Canadian Network of Northern Research Operators (CNNRO) was incorporated on July 8, 2013 under the Canada Not-For-Profit Corporations Act. It was formed with support from the Canadian Polar Commission and Aboriginal Affairs and Northern Development Canada. To view our Corporate By-Laws, click here.

The Board of Directors is selected annually from among Regular Members of the CNNRO.

There are two types of membership within the CNNRO. Regular Members have permanent research infrastructure in the Arctic. Associate Members have an interest in CNNRO member activities but need not operate or own research infrastructure.

CNNRO Regular Members
Arctic Institute of Community-Based Research
Arctic Institute of North America
Aurora College (Aurora Research Institute)
Canadian High Arctic Research Station

Centre d’études nordiques (CEN)/Centre for Northern Studies
Churchill Research Centre
Dalhousie University
Dechinta Bush University Centre for Research and Learning
Environment and Climate Change Canada
Government of the Northwest Territories, Department of Environment and Natural Resources
Government of Nunavut, Department of Environment

Government of Yukon
Ilisaqsivik Society
Indigenous and Northern Affairs Canada
Institute for Circumpolar Health Research
Makivik Corporation
McGill University
Memorial University
Natural Resources Canada
Nunatsiavut Government, Department of Lands and Natural Resources
Nunavut Arctic College (Nunavut Research Institute)
Parks Canada
Qaujigiartiit Health Research Centre
University of British Columbia, Department of Geography
Wilfrid Laurier University, Cold Regions Research Centre
Yukon College

CNNRO Associate Members
Conseil des Innus de Pessamit 
Health Canada
Inuit Tapiriit Kanatami

Manicouagan-Uapishka Biosphere Reserve
Nunavut Literacy Council
NWT Literacy Council
Ocean Networks Canada (University of Victoria)
Ocean Tracking Network (Dalhousie University)
Outpost Research Station Corp.
Queen’s University
Resources and Sustainable Development in the Arctic
University of Alberta
Vuntut Gwitch’in Government